Additional Information


Content

iPad and iPhone 4 launches boost Apple's online store presence

The high-profile launches of the iPad and iPhone 4 have lifted Apple to fourth place in the top 100 online retail list compiled by Experian Hitwise.

iPhone 4: unprecedented interest boosts Apple Store

iPhone 4: unprecedented interest boosts Apple Store

Share this article

While Amazon dominates the number one spot, a position it has held since the list was first compiled in 2006, the trend for retailers with physical outlets to climb the rankings at the expense of pureplay online specialists returns.

Six of the top 10 have a high street presence, up from four year on year, as do two-thirds of the top 50, with multichannel operators leading growth.

James Roper, IMRG chief executive, said the trend was also endorsed in findings from its Capgemini E-retail Sales Index.

He said: "It is clear that those with both physical stores and an online presence are leading the growth in e-retail. Multichannel retailers are consistently outperforming their pureplay counterparts in terms of sales growth."

Tina Spooner, director of information at IMRG described the overall health of the online sector as "very good".

Figures from the IMRG CapGemini E-Retail Sales index show 14% growth from Jan to May this year, compared with the same period last year, with total UK online sales expected to reach £56bn in 2010, up from £49.8bn in 2009.

The rankings in the Hot 100online retail list below are based on number of visitors to the websites, rather than sales figures.

 

IMRG Experian Hitwise Hot 100
1 amazon.co.uk  www.amazon.co.uk
2 Argos  www.argos.co.uk
3 Play.com  www.play.com
4 Apple  www.apple.com
5 Tesco  www.tesco.com
6 Amazon.com  www.amazon.com
7 Your M&S  www.marksandspencer.com
8 Next  www.next.co.uk
9 Tesco direct  direct.tesco.com
10 easyJet.com  www.easyjet.com
11 John Lewis  www.johnlewis.com
12 Ryanair  www.ryanair.com
13 B&Q  www.diy.com
14 Thomson  www.thomson.co.uk
15 asos  www.asos.com
16 Expedia.co.uk  www.expedia.co.uk
17 New Look  www.newlook.com
18 LoveFilm.com  www.lovefilm.com
19 Debenhams  www.debenhams.com
20 Topshop.com  www.topshop.com
21 River Island  www.riverisland.com
22 lastminute.com  www.lastminute.com
23 Thomas Cook  www.thomascook.com
24 hp  www.hp.com
25 Homebase  www.homebase.co.uk
26 Currys  www.currys.co.uk
27 ScrewFix.com  www.screwfix.com
28 ASDA  www.asda.co.uk
29 HMV.com  www.hmv.com
30 Littlewoods.com  www.littlewoods.com
31 thetrainline.com  www.thetrainline.com
32 British Airways  www.britishairways.com
33 Very.co.uk  www.very.co.uk
34 Cineworld Cinemas  www.cineworld.co.uk
35 ASDA Direct  direct.asda.com
36 Dell EMEA  www.euro.dell.com
37 Odeon Cinemas  www.odeon.co.uk
38 ticketmaster United Kingdom  www.ticketmaster.co.uk
39 Sainsbury's  www.sainsbury.co.uk
40 Comet  www.comet.co.uk
41 Vue Entertainment  www.myvue.com
42 Travelodge UK  www.travelodge.co.uk
43 GAME  www.game.co.uk
44 Boots  www.boots.com
45 PC World  www.pcworld.co.uk
46 QVCUK.com  www.qvcuk.com
47 Halfords  www.halfords.com
48 O2 Shop  shop.o2.co.uk
49 IKEA  www.ikea.com
50 Sportsdirect.com  www.sportsdirect.com
51 Orange shop  shop.orange.co.uk
52 TravelRepublic.co.uk  www.travelrepublic.co.uk
53 Dorothy Perkins  www.dorothyperkins.com
54 House of Fraser  www.houseoffraser.co.uk
55 Wickes  www.wickes.co.uk
56 Vodafone Shop  shop.vodafone.co.uk
57 First Choice  www.firstchoice.co.uk
58 See  www.seetickets.com
59 The Carphone Warehouse  www.carphonewarehouse.com
60 Premier Inn  www.premierinn.com
61 ebuyer.com  www.ebuyer.com
62 Jet2.com  www.jet2.com
63 MandmDirect.com  www.mandmdirect.com
64 ALDI UK  uk.aldi.com
65 Maplin Electronics  www.maplin.co.uk
66 Apple iPod & iTunes  www.apple.com/itunes
67 Monsoon  www.monsoon.co.uk
68 boohoo.com  www.boohoo.com
69 easyJet Holidays  holidays.easyjet.com
70 Matalan  www.matalan.co.uk
71 Flybe  www.flybe.com
72 bmibaby  www.bmibaby.com
73 Virgin atlantic  www.virgin-atlantic.com
74 InterContinental Hotels Group  www.ichotelsgroup.com
75 on the Beach  www.onthebeach.co.uk
76 mothercare  www.mothercare.com
77 Miss Selfridge  www.missselfridge.co.uk
78 Monarch.co.uk  www.monarch.co.uk
79 La Redoute  www.laredoute.co.uk
80 Dixons  www.dixons.co.uk
81 Evans Cycles  www.evanscycles.com
82 ChainReactionCycles.com  www.chainreactioncycles.com
83 Toys R Us - UK  www.toysrus.co.uk
84 wiggle  www.wiggle.co.uk
85 Bhs  www.bhs.co.uk
86 Topman  www.topman.co.uk
87 wilkinson  www.wilkinsonplus.com
88 JD Sports  www.jdsports.co.uk
89 Republic  www.republic.co.uk
90 3 Store  threestore.three.co.uk
91 Boden  www.boden.co.uk
92 Waitrose  www.waitrose.com
93 national express  www.nationalexpress.com
94 Focus diy & gardening  www.focusdiy.co.uk
95 holidayextras.com  www.holidayextras.co.uk
96 T-Mobile UK Mobile Phone Shop  www.t-mobile.co.uk/shop
97 BAA  www.baa.com
98 teletext Holidays  www.teletextholidays.co.uk
99 schuh  www.schuh.co.uk
100 LEGO Worlds  www.lego.com

 

The IMRG-Experian Hitwise Hot Shops List excludes eBay and price comparison / aggregator websites such as Kelkoo and Froogle. IMRG Capgemini Index Classification:  Beer / wine / spirits; Books; CDs / tapes / records; Clothing / footwear / accessories; Computer hardware / peripherals / consumables; Consumer electronics; Digital downloads (e.g. music, software); Flowers; Food, beverages and household supplies; Furniture; Garden / DIY; Health and beauty; Home appliances (e.g. washing machines); Household goods (e.g. kitchenware, bedding); Jewellery / watches; Software; Sporting goods; Tickets (e.g. cinema, theatre, events); Toys; Travel (e.g. flights, holidays, hotels, car hire); Video games; Videos / DVDs.

Before commenting please read our rules for commenting on articles.

If you see a comment you find offensive, you can flag it as inappropriate. In the top right-hand corner of an individual comment, you will see 'flag as inappropriate'. Clicking this prompts us to review the comment. For further information see our rules for commenting on articles.

comments powered by Disqus

Additional Information

Latest jobs Jobs web feed

Back to top ^